Jul 02, 2020  
2011-2012 Academic Catalog 
2011-2012 Academic Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Incoming Study Abroad and Outgoing Exchange Programs


Incoming Study Abroad, Outgoing Exchange Programs


Associate Provost for International Programs: A. Lesch

The American University in Cairo welcomes international students for a full academic year, semester, summer session or winter term, on a visiting basis in its undergraduate and graduate programs. Study abroad students attend the same classes and are accorded the same student life participation opportunities as regular, degree-seeking students. AUC is recognized as an approved overseas study site by numerous institutions worldwide. As AUC is US-accredited students can transfer credits earned at AUC to their home institutions. As many as a hundred colleges and universities are represented on campus at any given time, including Duke, Northwestern, Notre Dame, and Tufts universities and the universities of Bergen and Oslo in Norway. Most international students attend AUC on a study abroad basis, under which they pay regular AUC tuition and fees in US dollars. Students enrolled at public universities in the US pay the out-of-state-tuition rate at their home university if that rate is lower than AUC’s tuition. Applications for study abroad at AUC are processed by the New York Office.

AUC provides study abroad and exchange opportunities for regular, degree-seeking students to study in the United States, Canada, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Most AUC students study overseas on an exchange basis, under which they pay tuition and fees to AUC. Students from the partner universities pay the tuition and fees of their home university. AUC currently has 42 exchange partners, which include Pennsylvania State University, the University of California system, University of Washington (Seattle), Reed College, Wellesley College, Virginia Tech, University of Virginia, Georgetown, Marquette, University of Arizona, and Drexel University in the United States; Kansai Gaidai and Akita universities in Japan; Concordia and Simon Fraser universities in Canada; St. Andrew’s University and the University of East London in Great Britain; Sciences Po, Lund University, Bocconi University, and the Free University of Berlin in continental Europe; and Bogazici University (Istanbul), The American University of Beirut, and Carnegie Mellon/Qatar in the Middle East.

The International Programs Office handles special academic programs organized by overseas universities on a short-term basis, such as two- to three- week study programs in the winter term or four- to seven- week programs in the summer semester led by overseas university faculty and held on AUC premises. These special academic programs often utilize AUC faculty and house their students in AUC dormitories. Universities with which AUC has cooperated include Seton Hall Law School, Grand Valley State University, Lafayette College, St. Olaf’s College, University of Delaware, and John Jay College.



  ^ TOP